Massachusetts State Champions in the 1980s

Andover National's 1988 club ended a 32-year drought by becoming the first Massachusetts team to advance to the World Series since 1956. Andover bested Lee in the state title game and then outlasted the Brandywine LL (Wilmington, DE) in extra innings to claim the Eastern Region title.

Pittsfield North became the third different Pittsfield league to win a state title with its 1986 crown (Pittsfield South and West won titles in the 1970s), and Worcester Ty Cobb won that city's first title since 1957 with an extra-inning title game victory over Walpole American in 1987.

Swampscott completed a run of four state titles in six years by winning the state title in 1981 and 1983.

Select a year to see details from that year's state tournament.

State Champions of the 1980s

1989 - Westfield South
1988 - Andover National
1987 - Worcester Ty Cobb
1986 - Pittsfield North
1985 - Westfield North
1984 - Leominster American
1983 - Swampscott
1982 - Millis
1981 - Swampscott
1980 - Medford South

The Unpage brings you unprecedented tournament coverage.
Thank-you for visiting!
Click for information on contacting the Unpage.
Copyright © 2002, Unpage Publications. All rights reserved.
Last revision: 02/25/2002