Thank-you for visiting! This site provides coverage and results for every Western Region Little League Baseball Tournament held for the major baseball (11-12 years old) division from 1957 through 2000.

"Little League Baseball" and "Little League" are registered trademarks of Little League Baseball, Inc. Williamsport, PA 17701, and are used here for identification purposes only.

This page's content and author are not in any way associated with Little League Baseball Incorporated, its international headquarters, or any individual league. If you're looking for the official Little League Baseball home page, click here. If you'd like a list of Little League-related sites on the World Wide Web, click here.

What's New

For results and details on Western Region tournaments held since 2001, visit the Northwest Region and Western Region tournament pages. Western Region tournament results from 1957 through 2000 can be found by clicking on the links on the left side of this page.

This site has been on the web since April 27, 1998. Click to contact the webmaster with any comments or questions about this page.

The Western Region Tournament

In 1950, the Junior Chamber of Commerce in San Bernardino, California brought together four local businesses willing to pay a $200 sponsorship fee, and for the first time, Little League Baseball was played West of the Rocky Mountains. The San Bernardino JCC league was one of four leagues formed in California that year, and drew attention as one of the early pioneers in Little League's rapid expansion into the Western United States.

Twenty-one years later, the costs were significantly higher -- $950,000 -- as San Bernardino again became a focal point for Little League when ground was broken on a new Western Region Headquarters facility on the city's northwest side. Since that groundbreaking in 1971, Little League's Western Region tournament has returned to San Bernardino each August.

The Western Region tournament took on a new look beginning in 2001. Little League Baseball expanded the Little League World Series to a sixteen team field, and doubled the number of U.S. entrants at the World Series from four to eight. Little League officials also created a new Southwestern Region, and assigned two former Western Region states to the new region.

As a result, state champions in the Western Region are now divided into two six-team region tournaments. Both the Western and Northwest Region tournaments are now held in San Bernardino, and tournament champions advance to the Little League World Series in South Williamsport, Pennsylvania.

Colorado and New Mexico now compete in the Southwestern Region, and other Western Region states have been assigned to the new regions as follows:

Northwest Region West Region
Northern California
Southern California

Visit our Northwest Region and Western Region pages for results from region tournaments since 2001.

Upwards of 14,500 fans have attended individual Western Region games at Al Houghton Stadium, and the 1993 Western Region championship game drew what was at the time the largest crowd for a team sporting event in San Bernardino County history.

Click to view a timeline showing the evolution of the Western Region Little League tournament structure.

Unpage National and Region Tournament Sites

Australian Region Mid-Atlantic Region Southeast Region
Canadian Region Midwest Region Southwest Region
Great Lakes Region New England Region Western Region
Japanese Region Northwest Region

Unpage State and Provincial Tournament Sites

Alabama Idaho New Jersey
Alaska Illinois New Mexico
Arizona Indiana New York NEW FOR 2021!
British Columbia Iowa Ontario
California (Northern) Kansas Oregon
California (Southern) Maine Pennsylvania
Colorado Maryland Rhode Island
Connecticut Massachusetts Texas (East and West)
Delaware Michigan Vermont
District of Columbia Minnesota Washington NEW FOR 2021!
Florida Montana Wisconsin
Georgia Nevada Wyoming

Unpage Region Tournament Sites (1957-2000)

Central Region Southern Region Western Region
Eastern Region

Unpage Region Tournament Sites (1949-1956)

Region 1 Region 4 Region 7
Region 2 Region 5 Region 8
Region 3 Region 6


Links to tournament coverage

The Unpage brings you unprecedented tournament coverage.
Thank-you for visiting Unpage Publications!
Contact the Unpage.
Copyright © 2021, Four Six Three LLC. All rights reserved.