Unpage Home | Wyoming Main Page

Wyoming State Tournament Milestones

The structure of Little League Baseball's international tournament in Wyoming has changed several times since the first state tournament was held in 1957. Key events in the evolution of this structure include the following:

1950sWyoming's first Little League is chartered in the small Natrona County community of Midwest in 1954. The next year, additional leagues are formed in Douglas, Glenrock, and Riverton. In 1956, Midwest, Riverton, and Douglas became Wyoming's first entrants in the international tournament, when they joined the Rimrock Little League from Billings, Montana, in a district tournament held in Riverton. Rimrock won the tournament, and advanced to a sectional tournament in Port Orchard, Washington.
1957Wyoming holds its first state tournament when four leagues converge on Riverton for a two-day tournament on August 2 and 3. Riverton Little League tops Cody Little League, 8-1, becoming Wyoming's first state champion and advancing to a sectional playoff against the Montana state champion. This winner of this playoff then advances to the Western Region Division 1 tournament. Wyoming's champion would continue to face other state champions from Mountain and Pacific Northwest states until the early 1970s.
1971Wyoming begins dividing leagues into area tournaments rather than having all international tournament entrants begin play in a state tournament held at a single location.
1972Wyoming's champion begins advancing directly to the Western Region tournament rather than first competing in a divisional tournament. Wyoming's champion has continued to advance directly to regional tournament competition in every year since this time.
1981Wyoming officials use a double-elimination format at the state tournament for the first time.
2001Wyoming is assigned to the Northwest Region as Little League Baseball expands the Little League World Series from eight to sixteen participants.
2002Wyoming's state champion is reassigned to the West Region for region tournament competition games.
2006Wyoming's state champion is reassigned to the Northwest Region for region tournament competition games.
2011Wyoming reorganizes its leagues into two districts, with District 1 covering Western Wyoming, and District 2 encompassing Eastern Wyoming. The champion and runner-up from each district advances to a double-elimination state tournament that determines which Wyoming league advances to region tournament competition.
2022Wyoming is assigned to the newly created Mountain Region as part of Little League Baseball's expansion of the World Series from sixteen to twenty participants.

Click here to return to the Wyoming Little League Tournament Page Main Menu.

The Unpage brings you unprecedented tournament coverage.
Thank you for visiting Unpage Publications!
Contact the Unpage.
Copyright © 2021, Four Six Three LLC. All rights reserved.